Ancestor Journal


I feel deeply connected to my ancestors and I’ve been wanting to come up with a way to do more ancestor veneration than I do. ADF will help with that, as ancestors are one of the three kindreds, which I really like. But ADF is on the back burner right now, while I mostly focus on AODA.

I have grand visions of creating a wall of photographs of my ancestors and beloved dead, near an altar/shrine, ideally complete with mementos from some of the ancestors and beloved dead that I have things from, and the names of people who I don’t have photos or belongings of. I also would like to do genealogy. But both of those ideas will take a LOT of work and energy, as well as at least some money. And right now, I don’t even have an indoor altar or shrine. There are two shelves that were set aside for such, but they’re in a bad location, and we need them for book storage. I’d also like to honor my ancestors or give them libations one day a month, but even trying to do that for my Gods proved too much for me right now — let alone factoring in ancestors, faeries, animal or nature spirits. So that’s even more on hold.

And I’ve occasionally honored them at Samhain, but that is generally The Morrighan’s day for me, and I just almost never have the energy for two rituals in one day anymore — or even within a few days of each other.

But I did get a couple of new notebooks earlier this month. One has hummingbirds on it, which reminds me of my maternal great-grandmother who loved birds, especially hummingbirds and cardinals.

I’ve wanted to write about by family for a long time, and even more so, now that brain fog is a thing — I don’t want to forget what I know. So that’s what I did.

I started writing down what I know about my family in general, but specifically about my ancestors and beloved dead. I wrote what I know, what I remember, and what I’ve been told. So far, I’ve only written in it once, and I want to be careful. I want to write about my family members who are still alive and more of my memories. But my childhood was messy, and I want to keep the one notebook in the spirit of veneration, though I don’t plan to sugar coat. And I also don’t want it to be memoir per se, though I want to write that as well. As I go farther along, I’ll have to check facts, names, and dates, and relationships with my other family members. But right now, I haven’t even scratched the surface of what I know.

It’s not all I want to do, but writing comes naturally to me, and I love my family. So far, it seems to be a pretty good method for me of honoring my ancestors and beloved dead.

Leave a Reply

