CampNaNoWriMo April 2015 Update Number 1


I don’t know how many of these updates for Campnanowrimo I’ll manage, but here’s a quick one:

I’m working on finishing a fantasy novel I started a few years ago and hadn’t done much with since.

My word count goal for the month is 10,000 words, which won’t finish the novel, but which I think may be manageable. And if I pull it off, it’ll be a lot of progress.

I wrote 1,075 words today.

My total word count so far is: 2,662 words

That means I’m just over a quarter of the way towards making my word count goal.

I wrote seven days worth of words in four days.

I have three days of “buffer” for days when I can’t write.

I made my word count day all but one day so far. It was a Hell of a day. Read my post “Hiss” to find out all about it. (Also, there may be a “Hiss, Part 2 for the day following that one).

Even on the day that I didn’t meet my goal, I still wrote. I didn’t start until after midnight, but I counted it towards the day before since I was still awake and I didn’t want to confuse myself when I wrote for that day after I got some sleep and woke up.

I also only missed my journal writing for one of the four days so far (today). Though my entry on the first was just a small paragraph. But that makes sense. The two days I wrote the least in my journal are also the two days I wrote the most for CampNaNoWriMo — in fact, more than double my word count goal on each day. Over triple it today, and almost triple it on the first day, in fact.

Starting Tuesday, SJ and I have to call utility companies and I have to call a bunch of doctors. Sometime in the next few days, Phire, SJ, and I have to pay the bills.

Also, I know there will be at least two days, and probably at least four days this month that I doubt I’ll be able to write at all, let alone meet my word count goal.

So, bearing that in mind, I’m trying to use today, tomorrow, and Monday to essentially marathon and build as many buffer days as possible.

The next two days I may not get as much done, but I hope so. There’s all the regular stuff, meds, food, etc. Plus, tomorrow I want to call a bunch of family members to wish them a Happy Easter, including a family member who is long overdo for a call from me. So we’ll see.

Leave a Reply

