The Great Blog Overhaul of 2015 (otherwise titled, “Whoo-HOO!!”)


Right now I have five current public blogs. Count ’em. FIVE. Mind you, most of them still don’t have much on them yet, but they’ve all at least got something. And I spend hours today overhauling and updating them. There’s only one that I didn’t really touch. For all the rest, I did some major work. It may not seem like much, but it was for me. Mostly what I did consisted of creating new pages, including breaking some of the pages I already had down into multiple pages on each blog. I also wrote and posted several new pages. Most of these pages are identical to each other from blog to blog, or at least very similar. But I wrote at least one lengthy page specific to one blog. I now have a separate page on almost all of my blogs that links to the other ones. I have a page on most of them talking about people I mention frequently. And I have some pages that have similar information phrased differently on some of my blogs.

I changed the wordpress theme of “Island, Ocean, Sky” from “Brand New Day” to “Somethng Fishy”.  And even though I still don’t have any posts on that blog yet, I wrote a new page for it expounding on the title, which you can read here. Hopefully, I’ll put at least one post up over there soon, but I can’t promise it. I also changed and edited some of the widgets I have on there.

I tried to fiddle with the widgets on Seaside Symphony too, but I was only partially successful. I remember having problems with that before, and by the time I got to it tonight, I had been at it a long while so I just gave up temporarily in frustration.

I added pages about the other people I write about, one describing a new header photo, pages linking to my other blogs, and an explanation for why and how I cross-post.

Yeesh, even as I’m typing this blog post, I’ve gone back to adjust and fix things.

I also did some editing, almost all of pages, but I did do one blog post. I fixed typos and changed places where I used the wrong word. I also added missing links and I updated some out of date information.

This is something that I’ve wanted to do for a REALLY long time, so I’m uber-excited about it! But I knew it would be a massive undertaking and I also mostly blog from my phone these days, which really in’t conducive to most of that stuff. So I’ve been putting it off. But not today!

There is still so much more that I want to do, for example, adding new categories and going back and putting the appropriate posts into those categories, as well as any new ones, but I think I made incredible progress and I’m incredibly pleased with it.

That’s not all I did today, either. I may write a blog post about that too, but I may not. We’ll see. Honestly, there are SO MANY blog posts that I want to write right now. We’ll see if I get any of them done soon. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

